IMS Annual Awards

Each year the Iowa Medical Society recognizes physicians, laypersons and organizations who have provided outstanding contributions to IMS, the profession of medicine, or public health by presenting the following awards:

- To nominate, please send us an email here -

IMS/COPIC Physician Humanitarian Award – Presented each year to a physician in Iowa for volunteer medical services and contributions to their community through principles focused on human dignity, social justice, and compassion. This award specifically looks to recognize those individuals who unassumingly volunteer outside of the spectrum of their day to day lives. The recipient of the award designates a $10,000 donation from IMS/COPIC to be provided to a health care related 501(c)(3) organization within Iowa. The past 5 awardees were:

  • 2020 - James Bell, MD - Humanitarian Award
  • 2019 - Katherine Imborek, MD & Nicole Nisly, MD - Physician Community Service Award
  • 2018 - Jennifer Groos, MD - Physician Community Service Award
  • 2017 - Richard Demming, MD - Physician Community Service Award
  • 2016 - Christopher Buresh, MD - Physician Community Service Award

Merit Award – Given to an IMS member physician who has served the IMS and the medical profession with distinction. The past 5 awardees were:

  • 2020 - Fadi Yacoub, MD
  • 2019 - Douglas Steenblock, MD
  • 2018 - Doug Dormer, MD
  • 2017 - Hamed Tewfik, MD
  • 2016 – Lauris Kaldjian, MD

John F. Sanford Award – Honors a layperson for contributions to public health or the field of health care. This award is named after the “father” of IMS, Dr. John F. Sanford, from Keokuk. The past 5 awardees were:

  • 2020 - Mary Kitchell & Kathy Lariviere 
  • 2016 - Michael Stoll

Washington Freeman Peck Award – Given to a lay organization to honor their contributions to public health. This award is named after Dr. Washington Freeman Peck, the principal agent behind the establishment of the State University of Iowa Medical Department in Iowa City, the institutional forebear of the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine. The past 5 awardees were:

  • 2020 - Accessibility for All
  • 2019 - Shelter House
  • 2018 - Iowa Radio Reading Information Service
  • 2017 - Kiwanis Miracle League at Principal Park
  • 2016 - Courage League Sports

- To nominate, please send us an email here -

--- Special Thanks to Our Partner Organization for Making This Event Possible ---

The Iowa Medical  Society is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization. 515 E Locust St. Ste. 400 50309

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software