Events

Upcoming events

    • Tuesday, May 24, 2022
    • 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
    • Zoom
    Register


    IMS is excited to announce the launch of its COVID-19 Vaccine ECHO Project. It will take place Tuesday, May 24 at 12:00pm Noon. This hub and spoke model of virtual grand rounds will regularly connect physicians from across the state to share best practices and what’s working in their local communities. First established nearly twenty years ago by the University of New Mexico School of Medicine, Project ECHO utilizes technology to connect providers with subject matter experts and each other in a virtual “community of practice” to learn from each other and foster greater professional collaboration.

    Each ECHO session will include:

    • Case-based learning presented from health care professionals across Iowa
    • A brief didactic focused on equipping Iowa physicians with the latest clinic guidance and vaccine best practices
    • Interactive discussion and information sharing among attendees


    Zoom Registration Link

    • Tuesday, June 07, 2022
    • 2 sessions
    • King's Pointe Resort
    Register


    Healthcare provider – patient communication is key for good healthcare and outcomes. Motivational interviewing is a collaborative conversation method used to enhance a patient’s motivation as a partner in their health. The relationship between the patient and their healthcare team has never been so important.

    What is Motivational Interviewing (MI)?

    • MI is a collaborative, goal-oriented method of communication with particular attention to the language of change.
    • A person-centered counseling style for addressing the common problem of ambivalence about change.
    • It is designed to strengthen an individual’s motivation for, and movement toward, a specific goal by eliciting and exploring the person’s own arguments for change.

    Who should attend?

    • Physicians, Advance Practice Providers, Pharmacists, Health Coaches, Community Health Workers, Social Workers, Any member of the healthcare team.

    Location:

    King's Pointe Resort - 1520 E Lakeshore Dr, Storm Lake, IA 50588

    • Thursday, June 16, 2022
    • 2 sessions
    • Pappajohn Education Center
    Register


    Healthcare provider – patient communication is key for good healthcare and outcomes. Motivational interviewing is a collaborative conversation method used to enhance a patient’s motivation as a partner in their health. The relationship between the patient and their healthcare team has never been so important.

    What is Motivational Interviewing (MI)?

    • MI is a collaborative, goal-oriented method of communication with particular attention to the language of change.
    • A person-centered counseling style for addressing the common problem of ambivalence about change.
    • It is designed to strengthen an individual’s motivation for, and movement toward, a specific goal by eliciting and exploring the person’s own arguments for change.

    Who should attend?

    • Physicians, Advance Practice Providers, Pharmacists, Health Coaches, Community Health Workers, Social Workers, Any member of the healthcare team.

    Location:

    Pappajohn Education Center - 1200 Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50309

    • Tuesday, June 28, 2022
    • 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
    • Zoom


    IMS is excited to announce the launch of its COVID-19 Vaccine ECHO Project. It will take place Tuesday, June 28 at 12:00pm Noon. This hub and spoke model of virtual grand rounds will regularly connect physicians from across the state to share best practices and what’s working in their local communities. First established nearly twenty years ago by the University of New Mexico School of Medicine, Project ECHO utilizes technology to connect providers with subject matter experts and each other in a virtual “community of practice” to learn from each other and foster greater professional collaboration.

    Each ECHO session will include:

    • Case-based learning presented from health care professionals across Iowa
    • A brief didactic focused on equipping Iowa physicians with the latest clinic guidance and vaccine best practices
    • Interactive discussion and information sharing among attendees


    Zoom Registration Link

Past Events

Tuesday, May 10, 2022 Motivational Interviewing - Ottumwa
Tuesday, April 26, 2022 IMS COVID-19 Vaccine ECHO Project
Friday, April 22, 2022 2022 President's Inaugural Reception and Awards Ceremony
Tuesday, April 05, 2022 Motivational Interviewing - Virtual Workshop
Tuesday, March 22, 2022 IMS COVID-19 Vaccine ECHO Project
Tuesday, February 22, 2022 IMS COVID-19 Vaccine ECHO Project
Wednesday, February 16, 2022 No Surprises Act Implementation for Physician Practices
Tuesday, February 08, 2022 Physician Day on the Hill
Tuesday, January 25, 2022 IMS COVID-19 Vaccine ECHO Project
Tuesday, December 28, 2021 IMS COVID-19 Vaccine ECHO Project
Friday, December 17, 2021 Money and Time: In Balance or Burning Out?
Tuesday, December 14, 2021 COVID-19 Vaccine Mandates: Mandatory vs Permissive Considerations for Employers
Saturday, September 18, 2021 Crucial Conversations
Thursday, June 17, 2021 Recognize, Recover, Rebuild
Friday, May 28, 2021 IMS COVID-19 Quick Connect Webinar
Friday, April 30, 2021 IMS COVID-19 Quick Connect Webinar
Friday, April 16, 2021 IMS 2021 President's Reception & Awards Ceremony
Friday, March 26, 2021 IMS COVID-19 Quick Connect Webinar
Tuesday, March 23, 2021 Target BP: Achieving BP Control
Friday, February 26, 2021 IMS COVID-19 Quick Connect Webinar
Monday, February 15, 2021 Physician Week on the Hill
Friday, January 29, 2021 IMS COVID-19 Quick Connect Webinar
Tuesday, January 19, 2021 IMS Patient & Family Advisory Council Open House
Friday, January 08, 2021 IMS COVID-19 Quick Connect Webinar
Thursday, December 03, 2020 IMS Professional Burnout and Resiliency Programming
Tuesday, October 13, 2020 IMS Professional Burnout and Resiliency Programming
Thursday, September 10, 2020 IMS Professional Burnout and Resiliency Programming
Friday, July 10, 2020 IMS President's Inaugural Reception and Awards Program
Friday, April 17, 2020 President's Reception


The Iowa Medical  Society is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization. 515 E Locust St. Ste. 400 50309

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software