Events

Upcoming events

    • Saturday, September 18, 2021
    • 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM (CDT)
    • IMS Headquarters - 515 E. Locust St. Suite 400, Des Moines, IA 50309
    • 27
    Register

    Whenever you’re not getting the results you’re looking for, it’s likely a crucial conversation is keeping you stuck. Whether it’s a problem with poor quality, slow time-to-market, declining customer satisfaction, or a strained relationship—whatever the issue—if you can’t talk honestly with nearly anybody about almost anything, you can expect poor results.

    What Is Crucial Conversations® Training?

    Crucial Conversations teaches skills for creating alignment and agreement by fostering open dialogue around high-stakes, emotional, or risky topics—at all levels of your organization. By learning how to speak and be heard (and encouraging others to do the same), you’ll surface the best ideas, make the highest-quality decisions, and then act on your decisions with unity and commitment.

    What Is a Crucial Conversation?

    A crucial conversation is a discussion between two or more people where the stakes are high, opinions vary, and emotions run strong. These conversations—when handled poorly or ignored—lead to strained relationships and dismal results.

    What Does Crucial Conversations Training Teach?

    Crucial Conversations teaches participants how to:

    • Speak persuasively, not abrasively
    • Foster teamwork and better decision making
    • Build acceptance rather than resistance
    • Resolve individual and group disagreements

    Who Needs Crucial Conversations Training?

    Does your organization suffer from taboo topics, deference, disagreement, analysis paralysis, information hoarding, office politics, or alienation? Is your organization battling declining productivity, safety violations, low morale, reduced quality, poor customer satisfaction, or other bottom-line concerns? Then you, your team, or your organization needs Crucial Conversations Training.


Past Events

Thursday, June 17, 2021 Recognize, Recover, Rebuild
Friday, May 28, 2021 IMS COVID-19 Quick Connect Webinar
Friday, April 30, 2021 IMS COVID-19 Quick Connect Webinar
Friday, April 16, 2021 IMS 2021 President's Reception & Awards Ceremony
Friday, March 26, 2021 IMS COVID-19 Quick Connect Webinar
Tuesday, March 23, 2021 Target BP: Achieving BP Control
Friday, February 26, 2021 IMS COVID-19 Quick Connect Webinar
Monday, February 15, 2021 Physician Week on the Hill
Friday, January 29, 2021 IMS COVID-19 Quick Connect Webinar
Tuesday, January 19, 2021 IMS Patient & Family Advisory Council Open House
Friday, January 08, 2021 IMS COVID-19 Quick Connect Webinar
Thursday, December 03, 2020 IMS Professional Burnout and Resiliency Programming
Tuesday, October 13, 2020 IMS Professional Burnout and Resiliency Programming
Thursday, September 10, 2020 IMS Professional Burnout and Resiliency Programming
Friday, July 10, 2020 IMS President's Inaugural Reception and Awards Program
Friday, April 17, 2020 President's Reception


The Iowa Medical  Society is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization. 515 E Locust St. Ste. 400 50309

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software