Skip to content

David Muller, MD, Recipient of 2024 Physician Humanitarian Award

For Immediate Release: April 22, 2024


DES MOINES, IA — The Iowa Medical Society (IMS) and COPIC are delighted to announce Cedar Rapids-based ophthalmologist David Muller, MD, as the distinguished recipient of the 2024 IMS/COPIC Physician Humanitarian Award. This prestigious award is bestowed annually to honor physicians in Iowa who exemplify outstanding volunteer medical services and contribute to their communities through principles centered on human dignity, social justice, and compassion.

Dr. Muller, a member of the Iowa Eye Center in Cedar Rapids, has been an exemplary volunteer at the Community Health Free Clinic (CHFC) since December 2006. Currently serving as the Vice President on the Clinic’s 2023-2024 Board of Directors, Dr. Muller's dedication to service, embodiment of the clinic's mission, and commitment to the needs of others make him a standout candidate for this award.

Muller said he is thrilled CHFC will be receiving these funds. “Community Health Free Clinic is an amazing organization which helps provide much needed healthcare to thousands of Eastern Iowans each year who would not otherwise be able to afford it,” Muller said. “It is an honor and a privilege for me to be associated with them and to help out in the small ways I am able to.”

A long-standing member of CHFC's Board of Directors, Dr. Muller has been a driving force behind the success of the clinic, which provides free medical, dental, vision, and prescription services for uninsured and underinsured patients. Dr. Muller has been instrumental in the Clinic's ability to provide over 3,760 eye care services to the community since the establishment of its Eye Clinic in 2008.

“I feel very honored to have been chosen for this award and am humbled to be recognized in this way,” Muller said. “I extend my thanks to both IMS and COPIC.”

The IMS/COPIC Physician Humanitarian Award includes a $10,000 donation from COPIC, designated by the recipient to a healthcare-related 501(c)(3) organization within their community.

The award was presented at the President's Reception April 19 at the Hotel Fort Des Moines, preceding the installation of new IMS President Christina Taylor, MD.

About us

The Iowa Medical Society, established in 1850, is the largest and oldest statewide professional association for Iowa physicians representing more than 6,000 members. Our mission is to advance the practice of medicine through advocacy, education, and engagement with physicians throughout Iowa to ensure the highest quality of care for the patients they serve. Visit for more information.


COPIC’s mission is to improve medicine in the communities we serve. We are a leading provider of medical liability insurance that goes beyond basic coverage to offer educational resources, expert guidance, and proven programs designed to address health care risks and support better outcomes. Founded by physicians, COPIC is backed by decades of experience and a long-term commitment to maintaining a strong, stable health care environment. COPIC is the preferred, endorsed medical professional liability insurance provider for Iowa Medical Society members.


Scroll To Top