IMS Presents Annual Awards

Each year the Iowa Medical Society presents awards recognizing physicians and an organization who have demonstrated outstanding commitments to the health care, the professional of medicine, and IMS. On April 5, IMS presented three awards, the Merit, Physician Community Service, and Washington Freeman Peck.

Merit Award

Douglas Steenblock, MD, Psychiatry, Marshalltown joined the ranks of Iowa Medical Society (IMS) Merit Award recipients. Among the highest awards presented by the IMS, the Merit Award is given to physician who has made outstanding contributions to the medical profession.

Dr. Steenblock has been instrumental in leading the Society’s work in the area of burnout and professional resiliency. As the chair of the Iowa Medical Society Burnout Task Force, he authored the Steenblock Report. This report has guided IMS’ work in this area leading to regional awareness program that are taking place throughout Iowa this year; advocacy work to reduce administrative burden and simplify processes allowing physicians to focus on their patients; and tools and resources to aid in changing the workplace to reduce instances of burnout.

Physician Community Service Award

Many physicians have stated that they pursued medicine because they wanted to give back to their communities and care for those in need. The Physician Community Service Award recognizes physicians for the outstanding service to their community. This year’s recipients, Katherine Imborek, MD, Family Medicine, and Nicole Nisly, MD, Internal Medicine, both of Iowa City, recognized the special needs of the LGBTQ population, not just from a clinical care standpoint, but also from the perspective that patients need to feel comfortable and understood by their care team. As the co-directors of the UI Health Care LGBTQ Clinic, they have built a practice that caters to the needs of the LGBTQ patient population and recognized by the Human Rights Campaign Foundation as a LGBTQ Healthcare Equality Leader.

Washington Freeman Peck Award

Named after one of the principal agents behind the establishment of what is now the UI Carver College of Medicine, Dr. Washington Freeman Peck, this award is given to an organization that significantly contributes to health care in Iowa. The 2019 recipient of this award, Shelter House, has taken a new approach to aiding the chronically homeless, by providing a permanent housing solution with regular check-ins with medical professionals and offering training in life skills at Cross Park Place. Cross Park Place opened in January of this year, and is modeled after similar programs in other states that have seen an increase in self-care and improved over-all health in individuals living in this environment.

Congratulations to this year’s recipients. The 2020 IMS Awards will be presented during the President’s Reception on Friday, April 17, 2020. Members wish to nominate a deserving physician, organization, or lay person are encouraged to complete the nomination form or contact Kara Bylund at IMS. The deadline for nominations is Friday, January 31, 2020.


Steenblock Recognized for Work with Burnout

During the IMS President’s Reception on Friday, April 5 in Coralville, IMS presented its annual awards. Among those was the IMS Merit Award, given to Doug Steenblock, MD, Psychiatry, Marshalltown, in recognition of his work as chair of the IMS Burnout Task Force and authoring of the Steenblock Report. This report has guided the advocacy, educational, and informational work of the Society in the area of burnout and professional resiliency.

Read about all the awards presented by clicking here.

Recent News

Policy Forum 19-2 Held in Iowa City

The Policy Forum is the culmination of a six week virtual and in-person policy review process, where final actions on five Policy Request Statements submitted for consideration have been posted to the IMS website.

University White Coat Ceremonies & Student/Resident Socials

DMU OSM1 and UI M1 students receive whitecoats and attend student resident socials with IMS.

BPC, UnityPoint Host Rural Workforce Discussion

On August 13, the IMS attended a multidisciplinary discussion on rural workforce shortages, hosted by the Bipartisan Policy Center and UnityPoint.

Atlantic Iowa Burnout Programming Recap

A recap of the August 13 Burnout Resiliency Programming in Atlantic, Iowa, and more information on IMS events.

Proposed 2020 Medicare Fee Schedule Rule Released

CMS recently released the calendar year 2020 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule (PFS) proposed rule including a number of proposed changes to Medicare payment policy, rates, and quality program metrics.

Got News?

Is there something you think we should be covering? What would you like to see IMS report on? Click here to let us know.