New IMS Leadership

Date of Publication May 1, 2018

During the IMS President’s Reception last Friday Joyce Vista-Wayne, MD, passed the presidential medallion to Michael Romano, MD, MHA, installing him as the 169th IMS President.

Dr. Romano is a board-certified family medicine physician with more than 32 years of practice experience. He has spent his practice career in southwest Iowa, primarily in Council Bluffs, as well as the rural communities of Neola, Minden, and Treynor. In September 2015, he took on his current role as the chief medical officer of the Nebraska Health Network, an Accountable Care Organization (ACO) in Omaha.

Healthcare reform has been a consistent topic for years, however, the secret to successful may not be as elusive as many believe. “The secret to success: physicians spending time with patients. If we have any hope of success in healthcare reform, it’s about physicians spending more time with their patients.” Dr. Romano stated during his in augural speech. “From my perspective, healthcare reform isn’t as much about transformation of clinical practice as it is about reclamation of clinical practice. We need to reclaim the role that physicians have traditionally held in healthcare delivery: spending the bulk of their time face-to-face and engaged with patients. That’s the role we are uniquely trained for. And it’s the role physicians most desire to fulfill — caring for the health and healthcare needs of our patients.”

The President's Reception is part of the IMS Annual Conference, and marks the beginning of the term year for IMS elected leaders. The 2018-2019 Executive Committee in addition to Dr. Romano includes: president-elect, Marygrace Elson, MD, MME, OB/GYN, Iowa City; board chair, Brian Privett, MD, Ophthalmology, Cedar Rapids; secretary/treasurer, Tiffani Milless, MD, Pathology, Des Moines; and immediate past-president, Joyce Vista-Wayne, MD, DFAPA, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, Des Moines.

During the annual election process, Kelly Reed, DO, Family Medicine, Urbandale, and Scott Truhlar, MD, Diagnostic Radiology, were re-elected as at-large directors; and Jennifer Groos, MD, Pediatrics, Des Moines, and Damon Dyche, MD, Urology, Ames were elected as at-large directors. Lenard Kerr, DO, Emergency Medicine, has been appointed by the board to fill the final at-large director position that became vacant following the election process when Dr. Elson acceded to the president-elect position.

In addition to the at-large director positions, Nicole Westergaard, third year medical student at the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, was re-elected to the serve as the medical student director; and Matthew Alexander, MD, fourth year General Surgery resident at the University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics, was elected as the resident director. Michael Kitchell, MD, Neurology, Ames and Robert Lee, MD, Family Medicine, Johnston, were re-elected to serve as IMS American Medical Association Delegates.

Recent News

Policy Forum 19-2 Held in Iowa City

The Policy Forum is the culmination of a six week virtual and in-person policy review process, where final actions on five Policy Request Statements submitted for consideration have been posted to the IMS website.

University White Coat Ceremonies & Student/Resident Socials

DMU OSM1 and UI M1 students receive whitecoats and attend student resident socials with IMS.

BPC, UnityPoint Host Rural Workforce Discussion

On August 13, the IMS attended a multidisciplinary discussion on rural workforce shortages, hosted by the Bipartisan Policy Center and UnityPoint.

Atlantic Iowa Burnout Programming Recap

A recap of the August 13 Burnout Resiliency Programming in Atlantic, Iowa, and more information on IMS events.

Proposed 2020 Medicare Fee Schedule Rule Released

CMS recently released the calendar year 2020 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule (PFS) proposed rule including a number of proposed changes to Medicare payment policy, rates, and quality program metrics.

Got News?

Is there something you think we should be covering? What would you like to see IMS report on? Click here to let us know.