Board of Medicine Announces Expedited
Multi-State Licensure Process

Date of Publication April 7, 2017

The Iowa Board of Medicine (IBM) announced this week the availability of a new, voluntary process for qualified physicians living or practicing in Iowa to quickly gain licensure in 17 other states. 

The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC), which Iowa joined in 2015 via legislation approved by the General Assembly, provides an expedited licensure process for physicians in 18 states: Iowa, Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. Additional states are currently considering legislation and may join the IMLC this year. 

To use the expedited licensure process, qualified physicians must designate one of the compact states as their state of principal license and attest that the designated state is their primary residence, or the state where at least 25 percent of their practice of medicine occurs, or is the location of their employer, or the state they use for purposes of federal income tax. Physicians who designate Iowa as their state of principal licensure will be reviewed by the IBM, which will issue a letter of qualification expressing whether or not they are eligible for licensure through the compact. If approved, physicians will select compact states where they want a medical license and the compact will notify those states to issue the license. The expedited licensure process is voluntary. Physicians may still apply for an Iowa license under the regular process

To qualify for licensure through the compact, a physician must satisfy the following requirements: 

  • Possess an active, full and unrestricted Iowa medical license.
  • Be a graduate of a medical school accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education, the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation, or a medical school listed in the International Medical Education Directory.
  • Have passed each component of the U.S. Medical Licensing Examination or the Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing Examination within three attempts, or any predecessor examinations accepted by the Iowa Board.
  • Successfully completed graduate medical education approved by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or the American Osteopathic Association.
  • Hold an active, time-limited specialty certification or a lifetime specialty certificate recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties or the American Osteopathic Association.
  • Never been convicted, received adjudication, deferred adjudication, community supervision, or deferred disposition for a felony, gross misdemeanor, or crime of moral turpitude.
  • Never held a medical license subjected to discipline by a licensing agency in any state, federal, or foreign jurisdiction, excluding any action related to non-payment of fees related to a medical license.
  • Never had a controlled substance license or permit suspended or revoked by a state or the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration.
  • Is not under active investigation by a licensing agency or law enforcement authority in any state, federal, or foreign jurisdiction.

Applicants for licensure through the compact will pay a service fee for the expedited licensure process and the licensure fee for each state medical license issued. To learn more about the compact or to initiate an application for a letter of qualification, go to


Recent News

AMA IMS MAT News Release May 2019

AMA IMS MAT news release: Iowa Removes Barriers to Evidence-Based Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder

IMS Past-President Dr. Romano, MD, MHA, shares State of the Society Address

Dr. Michael Romano, MD, MHA, Family Medicine, Council Bluffs delivers the 2019 State of the Society Address.

CMS Integrated Care Models for Dually Eligible Individuals

Letter to State Medicaid Directors invites states to partner with CMS to improve outcomes for those dually eligible for Medicare and Medicaid

IMS Presents Annual Awards

On April 5, IMS presented three awards, the Merit, Physician Community Service, and Washington Freeman Peck in recognition of outstanding commitments to the health care, the professional of medicine, and IMS.

Medicaid Managed Care Update

Find the latest information regarding Medicaid Managed Care.

Elson Elected as IMS President

Marygrace Elson, MD, MME, FACOG, was installed as the 170th IMS President during the President's Reception on April 5. The results of the recent leadership election were announced during the reception, read who the newest leaders are .

Got News?

Is there something you think we should be covering? What would you like to see IMS report on? Click here to let us know.