Physician Community Service Award

A recognition of service by Iowa physicians in their communities. Criteria include: physician must be a resident of Iowa; must be either a DO or MD; service to the community should be uncompensated. “Community” will be broadly interpreted and includes mission work in a foreign country.


Katherine Imborek, MD, Iowa City & Nicole Nisly, MD, Coralville (2019)
Jennifer Groos, MD, FAAP, Des Moines (2018)
Richard Deming, MD, Des Moines (2017)
Christopher T. Buresh, MD, PhD, Iowa City (2016)
William Scott, MD (2015)
Medical Student Sections at Des Moines University and University of Iowa (2014)
Michael Giudici, MD (2013)
Neil Mandsager, MD (2011)
Percy Harris, MD (2010)
William Durbin, MD (2009)
Thomas McIntosh, MD (2008)
Albert Kollasch, MD (2007)
Stephen Eckstat, DO (2006)
Thomas Gellhaus, MD (2005)
Edward Hertko, MD (2004)
John F. Murphy, MD (2003)
Larry Severidt, MD (2002)
Thomas Becker, MD (2001)
James Kimball, MD (2000)
Michael Abrams, MD (1999)
James Blessman, MD (1998)
Dennis Boatman, MD (1997)
Paul Ferguson, MD (1996)
Paul Laube, MD (1995)
Peter Wallace, MD (1994)

Have a Nomination?

Know someone worthy of recognition from Iowa medicine? Has a colleague or layperson you know made outstanding contributions to the medical profession, health care, or IMS? Perhaps you know a lay organization whose contributions to public health are outstanding? Nominate someone you know for an IMS award submit online form.