Distinguished Service Award

The highest award given by the Iowa Medical Society, it is reserved for those physician leaders who have made outstanding contributions to the profession of medicine and IMS.


Harold Miller, MD, Bettendorf (2016)
Thomas Evans, MD, Des Moines (2015)
Michael Kitchell, MD, Ames (2013)
Donald C. Young, MD, Polk City (2007)
Clarence Denser, JR., MD, Des Moines (1999)
Paul Seebohm, MD, Iowa City (1994)
John Sunderbruch, MD, Devenport (1984)
Samuel P. Leinbach, MD, Belmond (1974)
George H. Scanlon, MD, Iowa City (1964)

Have a Nomination?

Know someone worthy of recognition from Iowa medicine? Has a colleague or layperson you know made outstanding contributions to the medical profession, health care, or IMS? Perhaps you know a lay organization whose contributions to public health are outstanding? Nominate someone you know for an IMS award submit online form.